Won’t you please excuse my frankness…

A simple sentiment, but perhaps even more relevant today than when it was written.  Literally, with all the controversy around borders and all;  sadly, that perhaps race has been replaced by (compounded with?) religion.

Holy Moses I have been removed
I have seen the spectre he has been here too
Distant cousin from down the line
Brand of people who ain’t my kind
Holy Moses I have been removed

To me, this song isn’t actually about political or geographical borders – it transcends politics.  It’s more about feeling different, alienated, outcast – about the metaphorical lines we (artificially) draw around ourselves for so many different reasons. 

Holy Moses I have been deceived
Now the wind has changed direction and I’ll have to leave

Which brings me to my favorite line in the song – not directly tied to the overall sentiment, but a classy way to express disagreement or disenchantment:

Won’t you please excuse my frankness but it’s not my cup of tea

Interesting tidbit – Elton actually wrote the lyrics for the last verse:

Holy Moses let us live in peace
Let us strive to find a way to make all hatred cease
There’s a man over there what’s his colour I don’t care
He’s my brother let us live in peace

And now for a very early video of EJ…

Border Song (Elton John – 1970)

Leave a Reply

