I was justified when I was five…were you?

So far, I’ve blogged mostly about ballads.  But there are so many different sides to Elton’s music – you can’t pin him down to a single genre (which is one of the reasons I love his music).  So, let’s go down the harder rock path today…

One of my favorite, favorite songs is “The Bitch is Back”…it’s a classic – and such a great concert song, especially when EJ gets on top of the piano! It certainly has passed the test of time…you could even say it has surpassed the test of time.  I say this because I don’t remember hearing this on the radio, even though it was released as a single.   Probably because the word “bitch” was verboten back then.  Such a shock!  Today, the word is every day.  Not sure if that’s good or bad, but I do like the song!

I can bitch, I can bitch
`Cause I’m better than you
It’s the way that I move
The things that I do

I remember watching the Kennedy Center Honors in 2004 when Elton was honored.  Billy Joel sang this song – I was a bit shocked that they’d allow him to sing it, but that just goes to show you where we are these days.  Seemed kinda weird to see George and Laura Bush bopping their heads to the song, but hey, it’s a great song.  You’ve gotta get up and move to it.

It doesn’t matter if the song is about Elton (supposedly Bernie wrote it after his wife at the time made a comment), it could be about anyone.   I know it could certainly be my theme song from time to time.  In fact, I’ve told my husband he could make it my ring tone on his phone, but he hasn’t so far.  I’m sure I’ll earn it some day!  🙂

Here’s a few versions for you to enjoy:

The One and Only (Love the pink wig!)

The One and Only (On his 60th birthday at MSG)

Billy Joel’s Tribute (following Bennie and the Jets)

The Bitch is Back (Caribou – 1974)

Leave a Reply

