You linger on my lips like confession

Oh, what an amazing line!  Classic Taupin, that’s for sure.  Bernie, you never cease to amaze me.

Surprise, surprise – I really like this song! But for a change, it was the arrangement/musicality (AKA Davey’s guitar!!!) that caught my ear when I first heard it.  Blue Avenue is one of those songs that I don’t listen to very often, but when I do, I have to play it over and over (and over) again.

And it’s no use each way we lose
You and me at the crossroads of Blue Avenue
Hit and run hearts collide here
True love passes through
Looks like we’ve got a wreck babe
Up on Blue Avenue
Up on Blue Avenue
Blue Avenue

A song about love at a crossroads – an interesting metaphor (although there are a few in this song).  Could be an illicit romance, could be a love past its prime…Elton’s vocals (especially the “ave-e-nue-oo-oo-oo”) help paint a mysterious picture as to whether they will make it through those crossroads.

Two hearts get entangled
Dirty minds they go to town
Everyone’s got an angle
Little lies get spread around

As I alluded to earlier, Davey Johnstone is magnificent when he comes in with his guitar in for the second verse.   Just like I have a thing for British accents, I have a thing for acoustic guitar.  Oh my.

Blue Avenue

And you can even hear a live version

Blue Avenue (Sleeping with the Past – 1989)

Leave a Reply

