Ode to the (Lion) King…from a wide-eyed wanderer

In honor of The Lion King 3D being out in theaters right now – and for it being the #1 movie this past week! – I thought it might be a good time to wax sentimental about this Disney classic.  Of course, it goes without saying that my favorite part of the movie is the music (surprise, surprise).

For the record (no pun intended), The Lion King is the highest-grossing 2D animated film of all time in the United States, and the soundtrack is the biggest selling soundtrack EVER from an animated film.  And, of course,  Can You Feel the Love Tonight garnered Elton his first (and only) Academy Award.

With the King of the Jungle (from The Circle Of Life video)

I’ll never forget taking my son to see the movie when he was about 18 months old.  It was the first movie he ever saw in a theater, and he stood up on his tiptoes the entire time, peeking breathless over the top of the seat in front of him (“peering out of tiny eyes, the grubby hands that gripped the rail”). He was totally enthralled, and I was enthralled watching him.

And my sister still talks about the time she was roaming around Toys ‘R Us with her two toddlers, and when one of the songs from the movie came on, her son said excitedly “Mommy, Elton John, Elton John!”  Starting ’em young – makes me so proud!

Yes, I do love the music.  Elton and Tim Rice make a great combination (but not as great as Elton and Bernie, I might add, but they sure worked some magic for this movie).  The Lion King soundtrack was the first of several collaborations for the pair.  I love all five of the original songs, but my favorite song from the movie has to be “I Just Can’t Wait to be King.”   It’s a fun song (reminiscent of Hercules and Your Sister Can’t Twist), and it tugs especially at my heart because I used to dance around the living room with my son to this song.

I Just Can’t Wait to be King

To complete the circle (of life) of this blog post, I thought I should also include links to the other original songs from the soundtrack.  Classics, all of them.

Can You Feel the Love Tonight (One of my favorite lines is very Taupin-esque, even though it’s Tim Rice’s pen: “It’s enough to make kings and vagabonds believe the very best”).

The Circle of Life

Hakuna Matata

Be Prepared

I was able to see the musical version of The Lion King, too (not on Broadway, alas).  Some day!

Oh yes, and The Lion King  is my daughter’s favorite movie (I’m sure because of the soundtrack, too).  😉

(The Lion King – 1994)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kimoreena
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 18:08:37

    #1 two weeks in a row!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

