Blessed

And now for my first real blog entry…

I write about this song, not because it’s my favorite (although it’s up there), but because I listened to it yesterday while driving with my kids, so it’s top of mind.  “Blessed” came out in 1995, and I was pregnant with my daughter at the time.  I used to sing it to her in utero (yes, really).  So now this song is forever intertwined with her.

And you, you’ll be blessed
You’ll have the best
I promise you that
I’ll pick a star from the sky
Pull your name from a hat
I promise you that, promise you that, promise you that
You’ll be blessed

I know this song isn’t literally about expecting a child – it’s about unbridled hope and anticipation.  But since I was, indeed, expecting at the time, the literal interpretation held just as much meaning.  And I was so thrilled that my second child was a girl…I had (and still do) have such unbridled hope for her.  Perfect timing = a perfect song.

BTW, I didn’t pull my daughter’s name (Chloe) from a hat…I discovered that it means “blossoming,” and I thought that would be a wonderful name for my daughter to live up to.  And the fact that EJ has a song of the very same name is certainly a nice perk!

Oh, yes, and EJ’s voice and the music in Blessed are spot on, too.

And now here’s Blessed.

*Blessed (Made in England – 1995)