My Sister’s Surprise

I’d been eagerly awaiting the movie version of My Sister’s Keeper for years.  I adore the book and have recommended it to many friends, including (especially?) my sisters.  I even made plans with my sister Lisa to see it together when I first found that they were making a movie.

Yes, the movie was quite good, although I was really disappointed that they changed the ending (that made the book)!  Regardless, tears were flowing throughout the theatre.  (I never saw a movie theater usher come by with a box of tissues before)!

When the movie was over, my sister and I were sitting in our seats regaining our composure when, what to my surprise, there’s an EJ song playing through the credits! Turns out its Jeff Buckley singing “We All Fall in Love Sometimes.” It took me about 3 notes (ask my sister!) to recognize that it was an EJ song.  So, of course, we had to sit until the song finished playing.

I’ve always liked this song, and Jeff’s version has very different orchestration and vocals.  It is quite beautiful nonetheless.  Melancholy and almost spiritual.  And knowing that he passed away, perhaps even more so.

If you haven’t heard it, you should:

We All Fall in Love Sometimes (Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy – 1975)