For friends are found on every road…

…and today, the road was A1A. Sometimes it’s been Route 13. It’s also been SW 18th Street, SW 238th Street, I-95, I-75 and so many other roads as well. And, one could say, it’s even been the internet highway.

I’ve been wanting to blog about this song for a while now, but I couldn’t quite find the inspiration. Until last night, which brought an overdue, long awaited (and very lovely) reunion to my life.

[Warning: This post may be awash with sentiment, but, oh well, I’m feeling sentimental today, and unapologetically so].

I hope the day will be a lighter highway
For friends are found on every road
Can you ever think of any better way
For the lost and weary travelers to go

From the soundtrack to the 1971 movie “Friends,” it’s a sweet, innocent song, unmistakeably (lyrically, vocally and instrumentally, especially the rich orchestration) from the early years.

The Pink Album

[Side note: I’ve seen most of the movie, but, as a mother, I was a little uncomfortable and somewhat disturbed with the depiction of the “love story” between such youngsters, so I didn’t watch it to the end. But I digress].

I’ve traveled around the sun way too many times to openly admit, but it is so comforting to know that there are some friends (regardless of time, space and other degrees of separation) who will be my friends forever.  Some are related to me, most are not, but it matters not.  The main criteria for a “forever friend” – they don’t judge you. They accept you for who you are. Period.

Making friends for the world to see
Let the people know you got what you need
With a friend at hand you will see the light
If your friends are there then everything’s all right

Yesterday, as I got ready for the reunion, I was surprised that many of the insecurities of my twenties, which I truly thought I had overcome, came rushing back to the surface as I stood in front of the mirror. (Does that mean they are still there, just pushed deep down so I don’t have to deal with them everyday)? You know, I truly, really wanted to go, but I almost talked myself out of it. Needless to say, I am so glad I didn’t. Wonderful friends, wonderful memories, and promises to keep seeing the light together.

Friends
Friends

It seems to me a crime that we should age
These fragile times should never slip us by
A time you never can or shall erase
As friends together watch their childhood fly

If I recall correctly, in an interview for The Union, Elton said that, of all of his recordings, he wished Friends had gotten more recognition than it did. (Hmmm…I could say that about a lot of his albums, frankly).  But today, I agree wholeheartedly with that sentiment.

Friends (Friends – 1971)